Flashlight

Today I went to see a film, Macbeth, screening as part of the Toronto International Film Festival. Since I have been swamped with paper deadlines (hence the lack of updates here), I was frantically working in the theatre before the start of the show; editing a paper by the dim lights.

A lady sitting to my side saw me fighting the dark, and said: “You look like you need a flashlight.”

I responded: “Yeah, thanks.” And when she handed me one I added: “I have a research paper deadline.”

“Oh,” she said. “May we all benefit from your research.”

I thought it was a beautiful wish, and I wanted to share it for all fellow researchers.

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flashlight

  1. Manuel Berlanga says:

    Shall our research pay our debts!

Leave a Reply

