DemoCamp Toronto 9

DemoCamp
Yesterday we had the ninth Toronto DemoCamp, at No Regrets. I got the impression that the crowd was noisier than usual -at times I had trouble listening to the presenters. A brief summary of the demos:

  • DictaBrain – A phone-to-blog service: call to a phone number, dictate whatever you want to have in your blog, and the service does voice recognition and uploads the content for you. Don’t know how good really is the voice recognition, though it worked fine during the demo. Anyway, I can’t see myself using it -I write only 2-3 posts per week, I can always wait until I reach a computer, and I like pretty pictures with my posts.
  • InfoQ – An IT news and articles website. It was partly a demo of their site and partly of some “funky AJAX” stuff. InfoQ tries to service five communities -Java, .Net, Ruby, SOA, and Agile-, and I guess they have a huge challenge in keeping the pace and offering innovative articles for all of them.
  • ConceptShare – A service to share visual designs (web pages, advertisements, logos, anything), annotate them, and get feedback from experts. One of their goals is to shorten the feedback cycle between designers and clients, by sharing the designs through the net. The service seemed very polished and very convenient. Great stuff -the best of the night, in my opinion. And I can see how software development teams can also use it to speed up requirements elicitation and prototyping.
  • The Email Company – They help you do web polls, surveys, email campaigns, and contests. Unfortunately things got really noisy at that time around me, so I couldn’t follow the talk fully.
  • Pursudo – “What will the audience get from you?” “Hopefully someone here will get laid thanks to us”. It’s a website to hook up people; basically you say what you want to do and who you are, and people that want to hang out with people like you will get in touch. I don’t know how much of Pursudo is the service itself and how much is just showing off geek skills -the presenters were bragging that they developed it really fast, that Ruby is so cool it hurts, and so on.

Besides ConceptShare, the most interesting part of this DemoCamp was an annoncement by Jane Zhang and Nadia Gouveia, from The Partnership Platform. They’re looking for software development companies to connect them with non-profit organizations in software projects. It’s a very cool initiative; if it sounds like something you’d like to do you should drop them an e-mail.

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in democamp, torcamp. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DemoCamp Toronto 9

  1. I think that Dictabrain is actually human powered, not an automated voice recognition thing.

  2. Jorge says:

    You might be right. I tried to make sure on their website, but they don’t clarify who/what does the transcription. If they said so during the demo, I missed that part.

  3. Pingback: Remarkk! » Missed DemoCamp9 :(

  4. Pingback: Democamp 15 and ConceptShare « Catenary

Leave a Reply

