How do you pronounce it?

Ph.D. comics’ Jorge Cham’s latest webcomic summarizes the name pronunciation problem I got since I set foot in Canada:

PhD Comics - Jorge

The difference is people seem to actually care in his case😉

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to How do you pronounce it?

  1. Olivier says:

    Hello Jorge,

    At the end of CSC318, Winter 2005, when my team and myself discovered your name was actually pronounced “whore-hey”, the shock that we’d been mispronouncing your name for 1 whole semester was such that we felt like total idiots for a long time.

    =)

    Cheers Jorge

  2. Jorge says:

    It’s been a long time since I lost track of who pronounces it how, so no worries. And actually I’m not thrilled about “whore-hey” either🙂

  3. Jorge Martinez says:

    Tocayo,

    The same problem over here. The funny thing is finding that a manager actually pronounced perfectly my name over the phone. I was amazed…. until I found out she was actually raised in Spain!

  4. Jorge says:

    We are together in our pain🙂

    So I’ve settled for a way to explain in writing how to pronounce “Jorge” to English speakers. Thinking of the uppercase “H” as a strong, hard sound, then:

    “Hor-Heh”

    sort of does the trick.

  5. leo says:

    I think the problem is not in the consonants but in the vowels. But this problem has stronger roots. There is no easy fix for it Hor-Hehis.

  6. Jorge says:

    I’m glad you empathize. You got it easy😉

  7. leo says:

    Actually, people call me “liou” (read these as you would in spanish) or “leiou” because they cannot say “leo.” Let alone “Leonardo” (“Liounahrdou”). But it doesn’t bother me.

  8. Maricela says:

    Where I am from no self respecting Jorge would let anyone call him Hor-hey. They would make it clear it is hor-he with a short e like in egg at the end.

  9. Jorge says:

    Maricela, you must come from the mythical land of the ever patient Jorges🙂 I lost my self-respect a while back: I don’t even wince anymore when I’m called, say, Yourghey.

    Still, when people are interested, I’m pleased to clarify matters. The “short e as in egg” advice would work.

  10. naisioxerloro says:

    Hi.
    Good design, who make it?

  11. poelveviedo says:

    Hammm… Nice article… Interesting.
    Links

  12. suki says:

    i have a boyfriend named jorge and it sounds like hor- hay because some people dont relize its actually jorge like in engilsh george.

  13. Coco says:

    A famous (and fabulous) Madrid composer’s name is Jorge Grundman..
    Anybody know how to pronounce it properly?

  14. Jorge says:

    I’m Colombian and I like the name Jorge lol. I don’t blame people for their pronunciation, and sometimes it can be funny. However I’m proud of the name so it doesn’t bother me either way-especially since some girls like it!

  15. Jorge says:

    You can hear the mp3 pronunciation ‘HHAORHHey’ here: http://www.babynamespedia.com/meaning/Jorge

  16. Jörge says:

    I like my name and even though the Aust don’t know how 2pronounce it… bn para mí

  17. Samantha says:

    The name Jorge is very likely a Portuguese variant of the name George. Probably pronounced “Hor-hay’

  18. Samantha says:

    By the way, you can see more information about the name here at http://www.quickbabynames.com

  19. Josue says:

    I bet I have more problems with people not being able to pronounce my name. 😀

  20. andrew says:

    My wife’s name is Mariko but she changes it to Mary so as to make it easier for English people. Some guy in LA told me I should change my name from Andy to something more American like Bob or Bill. I have never liked my name and were I in the US now I would change it to Bob just to make life easier

  21. Paul says:

    My middle name is Jorge and i’m Portuguese. The correct pronunciation in Portuguese is as you would pronounce george in english. In Spanish it is pronounced “or-hay”. Get your facts straight people!

Leave a Reply

