I’m not to be trusted anymore

Jerry Rubin once said “never trust anyone over 30”, so today, in my 30th birthday, I have a public announcement:

I need to warn you, with the last throes of that candid young man I used to be just yesterday, don’t trust in me anymore, no matter what I say! I’ll turn into an unrepentant weasel any second now. I feel the cold grasp of cynicism taking hold of me and I don’t know how long will I resist…

Ahem. Feel free to ignore the idiocy of that last paragraph. I don’t know what was I thinking. Rubin said not to trust anyone over 30, and I am just 30. Clearly, I can be trusted for a full year still. Let’s ah… go for a coffee and discuss indie bands or whatever us young people do.

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in Off Topic. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m not to be trusted anymore

  1. finchley81 says:

    Hey, me too! Can we trust each other next year?

  2. Jorge says:

    Sure! I’ll spin Rubin’s phrase again next year so that it means people can still trust us then.

  3. Yoni says:

    Congratulations Jorge … btw, I’ll be in Toronto for a visit at the end of June, and I’ll be 30 as well by then. You better be around for some coffee and a good discussion🙂

  4. Markus says:

    Congratulations Jorge! I’ll join this eclectic club in August😉

  5. mcyclops says:

    But we, old farts, can we trust each other, don’t we? I hope you soon join us in yelling to kids out of our frontyards and complaining about those crazy teenagers who are dressing like that, while in our time, ladies were ladies, and gentls gentls!

    And since tomorrow you will be 30 +1 day, you will be OVER 30, so you are basically done.

  6. Jorge says:

    Yoni, you bet I’ll be around. Looking forward to your visit!

  7. Jorge says:

    Markus,
    Thanks –enjoy your youth while you have it!

  8. Jorge says:

    mcyclops,
    Complaining about crazy teenagers sounds like loads of fun. I’m in. Let’s start with those awful baggy pants they wear.

  9. leo says:

    Were you to be trusted before? Oh, well.😉

  10. Jorge says:

    Leo,
    Not to be on time, unfortunately, nor to remember my debts. Other than that I was pretty reliable🙂

  11. Galax says:

    Jorge,
    When you were born I was about to become 30. So today I am about to become… Oh my…
    But I guess you can trust me again, though. What bad can I do at 60?

  12. Jorge says:

    Galax,
    I don’t think you could do bad, but there’s certainly a lot of good stuff yet to do!😉

Leave a Reply

