Walk Score

Walk Score is such a nice app: Give it an address and it’ll tell you how walkable it is.

WalkScore

Our apartment scores a very decent 83/100: Very walkable: It’s possible to get by without owning a car.” Yes it is.

(via Joel on Software)

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in Information visualization, Toronto. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Walk Score

  1. Laura A says:

    Did not like it that much I must say. While your apartment scores highly, my place only gets a 45. According to their definition “25 – 50 = Not Walkable: Only a few destinations are within easy walking range. For most errands, driving or public transportation is a must.” If this is the score we get on a prime location at Yonge & Eglinton where you find EVERYTHING within walking distance I wonder what they say about any location in Mississauga or Oakville🙂

  2. Jorge says:

    Well, you certainly live on a prime location, and walking in your neighbourhood is absolutely lovely, *but* I couldn’t survive without at least a bike if I lived at your place, and I think that’s their point. Yonge & Eglinton itself gets 67, which is quite good, but the score will decrease as you go away from the major intersections there.

    And suburbs in Mississauga and Oakville get the low scores they deserve!😉

  3. leo says:

    I like the idea of it, but it is still miles from being useful. I saw that they are aware of some of the issues but they are missing a big one: If you are not able to put yourself in different categories, it gives you blind results. I know that what I consider walkable is very different to what the average Joe considers walkable. Plus, quality is better than quantity. You might have one gym that is better than having 10 different exercise and health clubs.

    I think that the app is useful if you are just trying to find things around you but they should keep their blind judgement to themselves until it is worth something.

  4. Mike says:

    My score was only 26. It means that my neighborhood is not very walkable. But actually i go by car much more often than on foot. So at drivescore.fizber.com i ve found another service similar to this one. With drive score one can see how close establishements are by car.

  5. Jorge says:

    That DriveScore variant is pretty cool Mike, thanks for sharing!

  6. Bin-bin says:

    I really liked this! I spend almost 4 hours checking drivescore for addresses of all my friends and relatives. Mine is not the worst at http://drivescore.fizber.com/

Leave a Reply

