Mom

10 years ago today my mother died unexpectedly and prematurely. She was wise, happy, and selfless. I still miss her deeply.

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mom

  1. Yoni says:

    I sympathized with you, my friend. It will soon be 5 years since my mom passed away, and I can see how I’ll feel the same in 5 more years.
    (By the way, very nice picture. Did you take it yourself?)

  2. Jorge says:

    Thanks, Yoni.

    Yes, I took it. The picture with the swans is from the Grenadier Pond, at High Park. But if you mean the new header picture, that one I took in Prague a few weeks ago.

  3. Yoni says:

    The one with the swans seems almost like a painting rather than a picture – I love the strokes on the water.
    Funny thing that we were both in Prague within just weeks of each other. Were you there for a conference? What hotel did you stay in?
    (we stayed at the Olympic, and it was totally crap)

  4. Jorge says:

    Yeah, that’s a funny coincidence! I went to a conference in Germany, and then to Prague for a few days as a tourist. We stayed at the Charles Bridge Residence, a nice but a bit expensive B&B in a great location.

  5. Galax says:

    Just see this post.

    Is it a coincidence or you choose this picture on purpose?

    Your mom’s favorite animal was the swan. That is the reason why there are swans on the front door and the stained glass window next to it at your parents home. They are there at her request and they remind me of her every day.

  6. Jorge says:

    I chose it on purpose – swans remind me of her, as well, for these same reasons.

Leave a Reply

