Torture in Guanajuato

The Human Rights Commission of Mexico recently declared that the police of my home state of Guanajuato, Mexico, systematically torture people to obtain information and confessions (link in Spanish). Of course I’m not surprised –I don’t think anyone is–, and I’m pretty sure the problem is fully widespread in Mexico, but it’s good that at least the Commission has concrete evidence of abuse in this case, and that it’s making noise about it.

The Commission’s website is a bit hard to navigate, but if you’re interested, its recommendations to the Governor of Guanajuato are here (in Spanish, again).

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in Activism, Mexico. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment