Done with my thesis!

I completed the final touches of my thesis today—or at least the final touches before my departmental defense. I’ve just sent it to my committee.

I’m not done with my Ph.D. yet. I have two defenses to go through (the departmental is scheduled for June 15th), and surely my committee will propose some modifications. But I’m a big step closer, and taking this step has a great feeling.

Writing a doctoral thesis is hard, but a significant part of the difficulty is psychological and self-imposed. It is hard because it has to be: if it were easy it wouldn’t be worth naming it your thesis. We fall victims of our own ambition.

I’ll have more to say about writing a thesis, and about what mine is about. For now I’ll just take it easier in the coming days, and enjoy the Summer.

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in Academia. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Done with my thesis!

  1. Christoph says:

    That’s wonderful news. Well done!

  2. Kelly Lyons says:

    Way to go, Jorge! I remember well the difficulty of the time before getting to that point (definitely psychological and self-imposed) … we should chat about it some day!

  3. Dai says:

    Congratulations!!! You will soon have two letters more in front of your last name.🙂

  4. Galax says:

    I want to tell you… something. I have to. I must. I…

    Sorry. Don’t find the words.

  5. Alecia Fowler says:

    What! The planet was down and I missed this piece of oh so important news🙂 Congratulations Jorge! Enjoy it, and lets have a celebration🙂

Leave a Reply

