Done with my PhD; beginning my postdoc

Well I suppose I should have known that moving across the country would take quite a bit of my time. Last time I blogged, a month ago, I had just passed my final defense at the University of Toronto, having my thesis approved with minor corrections. Since then I finished those corrections, got a final OK from Steve, and along with Val I packed, moved, unpacked, and settled down in Victoria, BC.

My thesis is here, for those who are interested in going through the whole thing. For those who’d rather not, I’ll resume summarizing its main points in this blog in the coming days and weeks.

Anyway, I wanted to share that as of today I formally start being a Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Victoria. I’ll be working with the SEGAL and CHISEL labs (headed by Dana Damian and Peggy Storey, respectively) for the next couple of years. I spent the day setting up shop and getting a warm welcome from everyone here; the view from the window is great and the research projects quite interesting, so I’m happy, excited and looking forward to my new job!

About Jorge Aranda

I'm currently a Postdoctoral Fellow at the SEGAL and CHISEL labs in the Department of Computer Science of the University of Victoria.
This entry was posted in Academia. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Done with my PhD; beginning my postdoc

  1. Yoni says:

    Good luck with your new job and new location🙂
    Is Mushi with you?

  2. Smoking Guy says:

    The view from your window here is a little lonelier without you.

Leave a Reply

